High / Low – November 10, 2016

The last couple of weeks have found us focused on two main things – delicious food and too much politics (sometimes, at the same time). Going forward, we don’t plan to spend much more time talking about the US election, but hopefully we can get around to writing about some of the spectacular meals we’ve had – mainly because, in our experience, when you are new to Toronto, it’s hard to know where to go to find quality, but not fine dining, food. For now, here’s our High / Low (and for once, it’s Tristan whose high relates to food).


Cindy

High:

If you’re following our Facebook page, you can probably guess that my high this fortnight was going to see Sharon & Bram perform at the Toronto West Halloween Fest. A week ago, I said that I didn’t think it could be topped as my high, and I was right!

Singing and dancing to Sharon & Bram

Tristan and I singing and dancing to Sharon & Bram (and me recording the performance for my mum)! Photo kindly captured by fellow Sharon & Bram fan and famous Canadian food writer, Annie Chu of the Chu on This blog.

For those who don’t know who Sharon & Bram are (which will probably be most of our friends from Australia), they are two-thirds of the Sharon, Lois & Bram trio which were essentially the Wiggles of Canada. How do I know them? Back in the 80s, the trio co-starred on a television series with an elephant who was voiced by a tuba. The show was called ‘The Elephant Show‘ and it had a catchy theme song about elephants having enormous fun playing on a spider’s web. For some unknown reason, the show was broadcast in Malaysia and so I grew up on the musical stylings of Sharon, Lois & Bram during the first almost-five years of my life before my family migrated to Australia.

When Tristan and I moved over to Toronto, although saddened to hear that Lois had recently passed, I was excited to find out that Sharon & Bram were still performing. They have performed in Toronto three times since I arrived, and we’ve now made it to two of those events [click here for a snap from the first time]. Rest assured, it’s not as creepy as it sounds as most of the attendees are people my age (or older) who grew up when the Elephant Show was still in its prime.

We have done plenty of fun things this last couple of weeks, but a little Skinnamarink-ing with Sharon & Bram will always be my highlight.

Low:

The problem with doing a regular High / Low post is that sometimes you feel there isn’t really a low (and you end up writing about something general and trying to put a humorous spin on it), and sometimes there is a clear low and you’re stuck, because you committed to doing a High / Low post but didn’t think at the time it would ever amount to you actually having to share the most personal details of your life on the world wide web.

This is one of those weeks. But rather than go into the nitty-gritty detail, I am just going to acknowledge here that, while really enjoyable moments filled the last couple of weeks, there were also some real lows. That’s all I really want to say about it so please don’t read these two paragraphs as me crying out for someone to ask “what’s wrong?” Don’t worry, I’m totally fine!

Although our High / Low post can sometimes be a chore, part of the reason I enjoy doing it is because it is a handy reminder that even when there are lows, there will always be highs – both are a necessary part of life’s adventure, and it’s a blessing to experience both.

 

Tristan

High:

My high for the past two weeks snuck in just before the finish (i.e. tonight) and was the Tabasco Thursdays Hawker Market. This was a delicious night of eclectic food, hosted by seven of Toronto’s hottest chefs, and centred around the theme of everybody’s favourite spicy sauce. We got to enjoy a delicious mix of fresh and varied flavours, washed down with some frosty local brews.

Tabasco.jpg

Here are photos of just a couple of the seven Tabasco inspired mini-meals we got to enjoy:

Needless to say, by the end of the night, we had both satisfactorily handled our respective hungers and had that spicy tingle lingering on our lips to remind us of the fabulous feast.

Low:

The fact that the mind bogglingly lengthy, expensive, bang your head against the wall-y US election has finally drawn to a close is something of a relief, but I’m going to put down Donald Trump’s shock election win as my low anyway.

I’m sure everyone by now has consumed more than their recommended yearly intake of political analysis, commentary and vitriol over the last few days and weeks (and months!) so I won’t go into great detail here. All I will say is that I was excited at the prospect of the first female POTUS and was hopeful that the positivity and optimism that appears (at least from an outsider’s perspective) to have embodied the Obama era, was going to continue.

Time will tell what kind of President Trump will be and whether the worries and fears that many of us share will be realised or if we will all be pleasantly surprised. Either way, it will be an entertaining few years. Cindy and I will be getting our first taste of Trump-era USA when we take a little road trip to Upstate New York this weekend. Find out how we go on the next episode of Up Late with Tristan and Cindy!

Leave a Reply

